The 1855 Bordeaux Classifications of Wines

Posted on: November 15th, 2010 by Simon Carter & Daniel Darwood


The 1855 Expositon Universelle de Paris provided the opportunity to France to display her best to the world. To promote wine, Napoléon III requested a classification of the top wines from Bordeaux. The results were a five tier ranking system of the reds of Médoc region (plus Château Haut-Brion from Pessac-Leognan) and a three tier classification of the white wines of Sauternes and Barsac. Given the numerous changes in ownership and production over the last 150 years, the lists have retained a fair degree of legitimacy. There are of course a few exceptions! The only change to the system was in 1973 when Château Mouton Rothschild was promoted from a Deuxième Cru to a Premeir Cru. Classifications of wines from other Bordeaux regions came a century later.

First Growths (Premiers Crus)

Chateau Lafite-Rothschild (Pauillac)
Château Margaux (Margaux)
Château Latour (Pauillac)
Château Haut-Brion (Pessac-Leognan)
Château Mouton-Rothschild (Pauillac)

Second Growths (Deuxièmes Crus)

Château Rausan-Ségla (Margaux)
Château Rauzan-Gassies (Margaux)
Château Léoville-Las Cases (Saint-Julien)
Château Léoville-Poyferré (Saint-Julien)
Château Léoville-Barton (Saint-Julien)
Château Durfort-Vivens (Margaux)
Château Gruaud-Larose (Saint-Julien)
Château Lascombes (Margaux)
Château Brane-Cantenac (Margaux)
Château Pichon-Longueville-Baron (Pauillac)
Château Pichon-Longueville, Comtesse de Lalande (Pauillac)
Château Ducru-Beaucaillou (Saint-Julien)
Château Cos d’Estournel (Saint-Estèphe)
Château Montrose (Saint-Estèphe)

Third Growths (Troisièmes Crus)

Chateau Kirwan (Margaux)
Château d’Issan (Margaux)
Château Lagrange (Saint-Julien)
Château Langoa-Barton (Saint-Julien)
Château Giscours Labarde (Margaux)
Château Malescot Saint-Exupéry (Margaux)
Château Boyd-Cantenac (Margaux)
Château Cantenac-Brown (Margaux)
Château Palmer (Margaux)
Château La Lagune (Haut-Médoc)
Château Desmirail (Margaux)
Château Calon-Ségur (Saint-Estèphe)
Château Ferrière (Margaux)
Château Marquis d’Alesme-Becker (Margaux)

Fourth Growths (Quatrièmes Crus)

Château Saint-Pierre (Saint-Julien)
Château Talbot (Saint-Julien)
Château Branaire-Ducru (Saint-Julien)
Château Duhart-Milon-Rothschild (Pauillac)
Château Pouget Cantenac (Margaux)
Château La Tour-Carnet (Haut Médoc)
Château Lafon-Rochet (Saint-Estèphe)
Château Beychevelle (Saint-Julien)
Château Prieuré-Lichine (Margaux)
Château Marquis-de-Terme (Margaux)

Fifth Growths (Cinquièmes Crus)

Château Pontet-Canet (Pauillac)
Château Batailley (Pauillac)
Château Haut-Batailley (Pauillac)
Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste (Pauillac)
Château Grand-Puy-Ducasse (Pauillac)
Château Lynch-Bages (Pauillac)
Château Lynch-Moussas (Pauillac)
Château Dauzac Labarde (Margaux)
Château Mouton-Baronne-Philippe (Pauillac)
Château du Tertre Arsac (Margaux)
Château Haut-Bages-Libéral (Pauillac)
Château Pédesclaux (Pauillac)
Château Belgrave (Haut Médoc)
Château de Camensac (Haut Médoc)
Château Cos-Labory (Saint-Estèphe)
Château Clerc-Milon (Pauillac)
Château Croizet-Bages (Pauillac)
Château Cantemerle (Haut Médoc)

The 1855 Classification of Sauterns and Barsac

First Great Growth (Premier Cru Supérieur)

Château d’Yquem (Sauternes)

First Growths (Premiers Crus)

Château La Tour-Blanche (Bommes)
Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey (Bommes)
Château Clos Haut-Peyraguey (Bommes)
Château de Rayne-Vigneau (Bommes)
Château Suduiraut (Preignac)
Château Coutet (Barsac)
Château Climens (Barsac)
Château Guiraud (Sauternes)
Château Rieussec (Fargues)
Château Rabaud-Promis (Bommes)
Château Sigalas-Rabaud (Bommes)

Second Growths (Deuxièmes Crus)

Château de Myrat (Barsac)
Château Doisy-Daëne (Barsac)
Château Doisy-Dubroca (Barsac)
Château Doisy-Védrines (Barsac)
Château d’Arche (Sauternes)
Château Filhot (Sauternes)
Château Broustet (Barsac)
Château Nairac (Barsac)
Château Caillou (Barsac)
Château Suau (Barsac)
Château de Malle (Preignac)
Château Romer-du-Hayot (Fargues)
Château Lamothe-Despujols (Sauternes)
Château Lamothe-Guignard (Sauternes)

Chateau d’Yquem the king of sweet wines, made from Botrytis Cinera (Noble Rot) afflicted Semillon (80%) and Sauvignon Blanc (20%). The Chateau was in family hands for centuries until 1999 when Louis Vuitton-Moët-Hennessy took control. Alexandre de Lur-Saluce remains as director to ensure continuity of quality.



The Graves Classification 1959

Classified Red Wines of Graves
Château Bouscaut (Cadaujac)
Château Haut-Bailly (Léognan)
Château Carbonnieux (Léognan)
Domaine de Chevalier (Léognan)
Château de Fieuzal (Léognan)
Château d’Olivier (Léognan)
Château Malartic-Lagravière (Léognan)
Château La Tour-Martillac (Martillac)
Château Smith-Haut-Lafitte (Martillac)
Château Haut-Brion (Pessac)
Château La Mission-Haut-Brion (Talence)
Château Pape-Clément (Pessac)
Château Latour-Haut-Brion (Talence)

First Growths (Premiers Crus) Classés — A

Château Ausone
Château Cheval Blanc

First Growths (Premiers Crus) Classés — B

Château Beauséjour-Duffau La Garrosse
Château Belair
Clos Fourtet
Château Figeac
Château La Gaffeliére
Château Magdelaine
Château Pavie
Château Trottevieille

Classified White Wines of Graves

Château Bouscaut (Cadaujac)
Château Carbonnieux (Léognan)
Château Domaine de Chevalier (Léognan)
Château d’Olivier (Léognan)
Château Malartic Lagravière (Léognan)
Château La Tour-Martillac (Martillac)
Château Laville-Haut-Brion (Talence)
Château Couhins-Lurton (Villenave d’Ornan)
Château Couhins (Villenave d’Ornan)
Château Haut-Brion (Pessac) (added in 1960)

The 1985 St Émilion Classification

Chateau Cheval Blanc made from Merlot 39%, Cabernet Franc 57%, Malbec 3%, and Cabernet Sauvignon 1%. The Chateau produces the most famous Cabernet Franc based wine in the world and present régisseur Pierre Lurton has the greatest reputation in Bordeaux today.

 The 1985 St Émilion Classification

Grands Crus Classés

Château L’Angelus
Château L’Arrosée
Château Balestard La Tonnelle
Château Beausejour-Becot
Château Bellevue
Château Bergat
Château Berliquet
Château Cadet Piola
Château Canon-La-Gaffeliére
Château Cap de Mourlin
Château Le Chatelet
Château Chauvin
Château Clos Des Jacobins
Château Clos La Madeleine
Château Clos De L’Oratoire
Château Clos Saint-Martin
Château La Clotte
Château La Clusiére
Château Corbin
Château Corbin Michotte
Château Couvent Des Jacobins
Château Croque-Michotte
Château Curé-Bon-La-Madeleine
Château Dassault
Château La Dominique
Château Faurie de Souchard
Château Fonplégade
Château Fonroque
Château Franc-Mayne
Château Grand-Barrail-Lamarzelle-Figeac
Château Grand-Corbin
Château Grand-Corbin Despagne
Château Grand-Mayne

Château Grand-Pontet
Château Gaudet-Saint-Julien
Château Haut-Corbin
Château Haut-Sarpe
Château Lanoite
Château Larcis-Ducasse
Château Lamarzelle
Château Larmande
Château Laroze
Château Matras
Château Mauvezin
Château Moulin-du-Cadet
Château L’Oratoire
Château Pavie-Decesse
Château Pavie-Macquin
Château Pavillon-Cadet
Château Petit-Faurie-de-Soutard
Château Le Prieuré
Château Ripeau
Château Saint-Georges-Coat-Pavie
Château Sansonnet
Château La Serre
Château Soutard
Château Tertre-Daugay
Château La Tour-du-Pin-Figeac
Château La Tour-du-Pin-Figeac (Moueix)
Château La Tour-Figeac
Château Trimoulet
Château Troplong-Mondot
Château Villemaurine
Château Yon-Figeac